Wahaca Southbank Experiment wins FX International Design Award

, , , , , , , , ,

Wahaca Southbank Experiment wins FX International Design Award

Congratulations to the team at The Wahaca Southbank Experiment who have beaten off competition from around the world to pick up this year’s FX International Interior Design award for the best restaurant design in 2012. No small prize that.

The Wahaca Southbank Experiment – Best Restaurant

Huge thanks go to our architects, Softroom and designers Buro Creative, for bringing the amazing, if slightly wacky idea of building a restaurant from 8 shipping containers to life. We’ve got to admit, they do look pretty cool.

The Wahaca Southbank Experiement is a temporary restaurnat space, which will be housed on London’s Southbank until the end of 2014. We use it to experiment with new dishes. The ones our customers like best are added to the menu in our other restaurants, allowing us to have a development kitchen that everyone can be a part of.

, , ,

Claroscuro duo, WINNERS of our street artist competition


We are very excited to announce that the winner of our Street Art competition is the artist duo Claroscuro.

We have had incredible entries from some amazing artists and it has been a tough decision. Thank you all for entering but also for all those out there who voted.

Watch this space as Claroscuro starts putting together some fantastic ideas for the space – we hope to follow the whole commission here on the blog! We hope to see you all down in Canary Wharf once we open at the beginning of November.

, , , , , ,

The Graffiti Finals

We had an amazing response to our graffiti competition with over five and a half thousand votes from around the world!  Congratulations to everyone who entered.  In some heats it was really close and we’re sad that only 10 can go through to the finals – but we’re not going to stop at Canary Wharf, so there’ll be more opportunities to decorate Wahaca soon!
Created with Admarket’s flickrSLiDR.

The finalists are:

Monica Alcazar


Jon Erazo

Faye Chadburn


Luke Brabants




Jimi Crayon

It’s now up to the management (feel free to try and influence their decision!) and we hope to announce the overall winner very soon.